Veteran tennis players in action

Helen Redshaw serves during the recent seniors open two-day tournament, while Sheena Grey waits at the net for a volley. Photo: Supplied.

The Marlborough Veterans Tennis Club recently completed another successful winter season when its league competition wound up late last month.

The league was played over 12 weeks on Sunday mornings and was keenly contested by 60 players and 25 reserves.

It is a mixed gender doubles format with all four players playing a set against each other. At the end of the match all games won by individuals are added with a maximum of 18 points.

The top player moves up a league, the bottom player moves down and the middle two stay in the same league for the next match, ensuring all matches are even and keenly-contested at all levels of ability.

Veteran tennis league men’s winner Mike Ennis with event organiser Brian Martin at the prizegiving. Photo: Supplied.
Veteran tennis league men’s winner Mike Ennis with event organiser Brian Martin at the prizegiving. Photo: Supplied.

This year Karina Greenall finished on top of the women’s standings with 163 points. Second equal were Pauline Troon and Trish Dahlberg, both with 158 points.

Mike Ennis took out the top men’s award with 166 points, closely followed by Weir Broadbridge with 163 points and Hugh Robinson with 162 points.


Meanwhile, the Marlborough seniors open two-day tournament, originally scheduled for September 14-15 but postponed due to the weather, was played late last month.

With local veterans club president Max George promoting participation and comradeship, local entries were strong along with those travelling from Nelson.

A round-robin competition assured all players had three or four games.

Results of the 2019 Marlborough Veterans Tournament


Group 1: 1 Kent Register and Phil Sowman; 2 Stephen Dempster and Brendon Sutherland; Plate Max George and Owen Dodson. Group 2: 1 Simon Bamford and Glen Mackie; 2 Stan Wallace and Doug Jones.



Group 1: 1 Pauline Fudge and Donna Clark; 2 Mary-Anne Sloper and Pauline Low. Group 2: 1 Caroline Cornelius and Luan Muir; 2 Roberta Marshall and Diane Wallace. Group 3: 1 Jean Walker and Trish Wehner; 2 Melanie Carriere and Bronwyn Keown.



Group 1: 1 Owen Dodson and Eveline van der Linden; 2 Brendon Sutherland and Pauline Fudge. Group 2: 1 Jim Sampson and Roberta Marshall; 2 Garry Tait and Jacqui Swanston. Group 3: 1 Anthony Bowron and Luan Muir; 2 Mike Ennis and Melanie Carriere. Group 4: 1 Bill Taylor and Denise Taylor; 2 Andrew Turner and Annette Hewetson.


Special awards

The Eric Jackson Cup went to Joshua Joseph while the player of the tournament award was Roberta Marshall.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend