United get up to win hockey decider

United forward Jared Buckley controls possession on the goal line. Photo: Peter Jones.

United are the 2020 Marlborough premier hockey champs after beating Arotea Kiwi in a shootout at College Park on Saturday.

Kiwi led 1-0 at halftime, however United levelled before the end of regulation play, leading to the shootout, which United won 3-0.

The battle for third and fourth placings in premier grade was won by Beawai, who defeated Go Girls 3-2 in another tight affair.

Division two was won by the MBC First XI, who downed Beawai Masters 5-3, while Beawai scored a 3-1 win over MGC First XI to come third.

In division three it was the MBC 2nd XI who too the honours, beating Arotea Kiwi 2-1 in the decider. Emcee finished third after downing MGC 2nd XI 2-1.

At the conclusion of play the season’s awards were handed out, Jo Jones being named women’s player of the year and John McKinnon the top men’s player.


2020 awards

Best Dressed/sportsmanship: Arotea Kiwi

Most Improved team: Emcee

Winner of division three: MBC 2nd XI

Winner of division two: MBC 1st XI

Winner of premier competition: United

Combined Club Points: Beawai/Kiwi: Arotea Kiwi

Winner of division two final: MBC 1st XI

Winner of premier final: United


Individual awards

MVP Emcee – Jake Brydon; MVP Arotea Kiwi – Becky Melhopt; MVP MGC 2nd XI – Eleanor O’Connell; MVP MBC 2nd XI – Charlie Struthers.

Most improved Junior Umpire: Emma Blom

Most improved Senior Umpire: Jo Campbell

Umpire attaining highest ranking, grading or appointment: Di Morrisey

Most Improved Women’s Player: Veronica Hardman

Most Improved Men’s Player: James Young

Outstanding Contribution to Hockey: Grant McMillan

Contribution to Hockey Administration: Nigel Fraser

Women’s Player of the Year: Jo Jones

Men’s Player of the Year: John McKinnon

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend