Rugby awards handed out

Waitohi's Jimmy Giles was named Tasman club rugby personality of the year. Photo: Shuttersport. 

The Tasman Rugby Union honoured members of their representative teams during a ceremony at the Turf Hotel in Nelson on Tuesday.

A series of awards were presented for community rugby, the Tasman under-19 team plus the Mako men’s and women’s teams.

On the club scene, three awards were presented.

Waitohi’s Fetuli Paea was named male club Player of the Year (male and female), awarded to the best club player of the season week in week out. The other nominees were Taina Fox-Matamua (Marist) and Campbell Morgan-Parata (Waimea Old Boys). Anna Bradley, from Waimea Old Boys, was named female club Player of the Year. Also in contention were Leah Miles (Waimea Old Boys) and Courtney Clarke (Motueka High School).

Waitohi stalwart Jimmy Giles was named Club Personality of the Year. A true all-rounder, Jimmy was the club’s President, Secretary, Treasurer, Club Captain, CoD Delegate, Coach and Captain. Under his leadership the Waitohi club won the Marlborough Sub-Union trophy and were semi-finalists in the E’stel Tasman Trophy.

Campbell Morgan-Parata was voted the Tasman Under 19 Player of the Year.

Several Tasman Mako awards were also handed out. Tamara Silcock was named the Mako Women’s Defender of the Year, while Ethan Blackadder took out the corresponding man’s award.

The Mako women’s Rookie of the Year award went to livewire loosie Leah Miles while outside back Fetuli Paea claimed the Mako Men Rookie of the Year prize.

Winger Rebecca Kersten’s efforts, week-in, week-out, earned her the Mako women’s Player of the Year trophy while the Jordan Taufua picked up the Mako men’s Player of the Year trophy, effectively the team’s MVP for the season as voted on by the coaching team.

In addition to those awards, the Mako Woman of the Year and Mako Man of the Year were also announced, after being voted on by the whole squad and management.

This year, Jessica Foster-Lawrence and David Havili, respective captains of the Mako flagship teams, took out those coveted awards.

Also honoured at the prizegiving was retiring Mako No 81 Vernon Fredericks, who played 56 games for the union. The popular loose forward’s contribution in helping bring the Mako from the lower reaches of the NPC to the top level was recognised.

Previous ArticleNext Article

Send this to a friend